Formed in 1921, Longniddry Golf Club in East Lothian the cradle of golf, is situated on the south shore of the Firth of Forth, arguably the finest stretch of golfing coastline in Scotland, 18 miles east of Edinburgh. Longniddry is the closest seaside course to Edinburgh, comprising an unusual combination of woodland and links, with spectacular sea views from many holes. Check out our unique fly-over webtour which gives a birdseye view of the course with photographs and expanding views of each green.
Designed by Harry S Colt, with no par 5s and 8 par 4s measuring over 400 yards, Longniddry offers a very good test of golf for both members and vistors who come to enjoy some of the best golf available in Scotland. The course has a par of 68 and the course record of 62 was set by amateur Mike Thomson of Peebles. Formerly an Open qualifying course, Longniddry is regularly asked to host amateur competitions such as the South East District Championship for the Lothians Golf Association which was held in September 2012 and in May 2013, Longniddry hosted the Scottish Ladies (Close) Amateur Championship. Longniddry will also be the venue for a North West Pro Tour event in July 2013
We currently have vacancies for full and 5 day membership, with ladies particularly welcome. If you'd like to become a member of Longniddry Golf Club, you can download an application form here and joining information can be downloaded here. Please call our General Manager, Bob Gunning on 01875 852141 to discuss our flexible membership terms or email firstname.lastname@example.org to receive details.
Visitors can expect a warm welcome at this private member club and tee times may be reserved in advance - this is recommended. There's a well stocked ProShop with buggies and trolleys. The Clubhouse is open from early till late, with two bars and a dining room.
The course is a pleasant combination of woodland and links, with many holes featuring tree-lined fairways whilst the dry, sandy soil gives them a links consistency.
The laying out of the course was entrusted to Harry S Colt, one of the foremost architects of the day who was responsible for the design of numerous courses. There have been a number of alterations to Harry Colt's original layout e.g in 1936 James Braid was invited to advise on the second hole, following which a number of changes were made to the course, although none, it would appear, to the second! During the war, part of the course was ploughed up for food production, following which Philip Mackenzie Ross was invited to make good the damage and some of the changes were quite significant, with two holes by the sea being scrapped. More recently, Donald Steele was engaged to advise on the course architecture, particularly the bunkering.